Skip to Main Content

Reference e-books

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

Dictionaries

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
To access "Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary" select "Medical Dictionary" from the menu at the top of the screen (blue background).

Medical Terminology Demystified by Layman, Dale Pierre
Call Number: Online
Dictionary of Nursing
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2007
NOTE: You need to open the PDF file to search/browse for terms.
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research‎
Call Number: Online
"Alphabetical list of entries" contains the definitions (limited formatting - best to search for the terms using key shortcuts)

Encyclopedias

Magill's Medical Guide by Bryan C. Auday (General Editor); Michael A. Buratovich (General Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781619252141
Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease by Randall, Otelio Sye. Romaine, Deborah S.
Call Number: Online
The Encyclopedia of Work-related Illnesses, Injuries, and Health Issues by Kahn, Ada P.
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Aging by Richard Schulz
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780826148438
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of the Brain and Brain Disorders by Turkington, Carol
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Elizabeth A. Capezuti
Call Number: Online
Each entry is available as separate file through "View most recent issue" link
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by Rothfeld, Glenn S. Romaine, Deborah S.
Call Number: Online
Psychology and Behavioral Health by Paul Moglia (General Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Call Number: Online
Each topic entry is available as separate file through "View most recent issue" link.
The Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Navarra, Tova
Call Number: Online
The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS by Watstein, Sarah. Stratton, Stephen E.
Call Number: Online

Continue Your Research

Need more information? Check subject guides listed below.

Evidence Based Nursing Research
by Geri Bodeker Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 51 views this year
Health Science
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 4 views this year
Psychology
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 51 views this year
Dental Assisting
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 15 views this year

Women's Health Research

Leadership

Nursing Leadership by Harriet R. Feldman
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780826121769
Publication Date: 2011