Skip to Main Content

Reference e-books

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

For Professional Musicians

The Professional Musician's Legal Companion by Michael Aczon
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781932929010
Great Jobs for Music Majors by Jan Goldberg; Stephen E. Lambert; Julie DeGalan
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780071411608

Continue Your Research

Music
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 10 views this year

Music eReference

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.

Browse these collections - a few examples below:

The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia by Eisen, Cliff Keefe, Simon P.
Call Number: Online
Popular Music: The Key Concepts by Shuker, Roy.
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound by Hoffmann, Frank W. Ferstler, Howard
Call Number: Online
The String Instrument Owner's Handbook by Michael Pagliaro
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015

Musical Notation

Learning to Read Music by Peter Nickol
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781845280840
The Musician's Guide to Reading and Writing Music by Dave Stewart
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780879305703

Music Dictionaries

Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Classical Music
ISBN: 9781423711377
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Musician's Dictionary by David W. Barber; Dave Donald (Illustrator); Yehudi Menuhin (Preface by)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780920151211
The NPR Classical Music Companion: Terms and Concepts From A to Z by Hoffman, Miles
Call Number: Online
Tenors, Tantrums and Trills: An Opera Dictionary From Aida to Zzzz by Barber, David W. Donald, David C.
Call Number: Online