Skip to Main Content

Reference e-books

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

Maps, Atlases and Dictionaries

Historical Atlas of the United States by Mark C. Carnes
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002
Hutchinson Dictionary of Geography by Helicon Publishing
Publication Date: 2005
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: The Environment and Humankind by Douglas, Ian
Call Number: Online

Very Short Introductions to..

Great Depression & the New Deal : A Very Short Introduction by Rauchway, Eric
Call Number: Online
Renaissance : A Very Short Introduction by Brotton, Jerry
Call Number: Online
Roman Empire : A Very Short Introduction by Kelly, Christopher
Call Number: Online

History Encyclopedias

Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia by Page, Melvin E. Sonnenburg, Penny M.
Call Number: Online
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present by Gibney, Matthew J. Hansen, Randall
Call Number: Online
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: a Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia by Francis, J. Michael
Call Number: Online
Cold War: A Student Encyclopedia by Tucker, Spencer
Call Number: Online
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia by Ruíz, Vicki. Sánchez Korrol, Virginia.
Call Number: Online
American Women's History (Oxford Student Companions to American History) by Matthews, Glenna
Call Number: Online
The Civil Rights Movement by The Editors of Salem Press
Call Number: Online
Routledge Companion to the American Civil War Era by Tulloch, Hugh
U-X-L American Decades by Gale Research Staff
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002
Early Civilizations in the Americas by Jacqueline Adams; Sonia G. Benson
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2005
U. S. Immigration and Migration by Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2004

Browse History eBooks Databases

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.
ABC-CLIO Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database offers curated collections of primary sources, expert perspectives, and reference material on the following subjects: The African American Experience, The American Indian Experience, The Latino American Experience, Modern Genocide, Pop Culture Universe, World Religions
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

In advanced search, limit your search in "content type" to "reference" (use drop-down menu).

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

In advanced search, limit your search in "content type" to "reference" (use drop-down menu).

Continue Your Search

Demographic and Consumer Data
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 12 views this year
History
by Teresa Morris Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 98 views this year