Research Guides: ESL400: Climate Change: Global Climate Action

Global Climate Action

Description & Keywords
Bookshelf

Global Climate Action

Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human prosperity, and it has already begun to affect the Bay Area and greater California community. SMCCCD is working towards reducing its footprint in parallel with engaging, empowering, and enriching SMCCCD's students, faculty, and staff to become more impactful global citizens.

Possible Search Terms

hand holding a toy globe

california
bay area
california sustainability practices
climate change bay area
local "climate change"
"act locally"

Climate Change in California
Call Number: Ebook and CSM Library Upper Level: QC903.2.U6 K35 2012
ISBN: 9780520271814
Publication Date: 2012
This book discusses the possible changes in California's future that will be caused by climate change. The author predicts that changes will affect the economy, natural resources, public health, agriculture, and livelihoods of its residents.
Changing Climates in North American Politics
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780262012997
Publication Date: 2009
Analysis of climate change policy innovations across North America at transnational, federal, state, and local levels, involving public, private, and civic actors.
Living with Climate Change
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781138415942
Publication Date: 2017
The climate has changed and communities across America are living with the consequences: rapid sea level rise, multi-state wildfires, heat waves, and enduring drought. Living with Climate Change: How Communities Are Surviving and Thriving in a Changing Climate details the steps cities are taking now to protect lives and businesses, to reduce their vulnerability, and to adapt and make themselves more resilient.
Visualizing Climate Change
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781844078202
Publication Date: 2012
This guide to using visual media in communicating climate change vividly brings to life both the science and the practical solutions for climate change, such as local renewable energy and flood protection. It introduces powerful new visual tools (from outdoor signs to video-games) for communities, action groups, planners, and other experts to use in engaging the public, building awareness and accelerating action on the world's greatest crisis.

Start your search!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.