Research Guides: ESL400: Climate Change: Water Systems

Water Systems

Description & Keywords
Bookshelf

Water Systems

SMCCCD is committed to reducing its water use by 50% from 2013 levels by 2025. In 2015, the Water Efficiency Program was developed to communicate the District's commitment to water conservation, identify information gaps, and guide program implementation.

Possible Search Terms

water faucet with running water

water usage
reducing water use
water conservation
college water coservation
universities water conservation
water recycling universities

Preparing Urban Water Use Efficiency Plans
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781780405247
Publication Date: 2013
Preparing Urban Water Use Efficiency Plans provides detailed approaches to developing and implementing a water conservation plan. This book covers the broad spectrum of conservation planning for urban communities including achieving more efficiency from: Residential domestic uses, Commercial and governmental facilities use, Industrial uses, Pricing Water Loss Control Programs.
High and Dry
Call Number: College of San Mateo Library Upper Level: TD403 .A39 2017
ISBN: 9780300220384
Publication Date: 2017
In this accessible and timely book, hydrology expert William M. Alley and science writer Rosemarie Alley sound the call to protect groundwater. Drawing on examples from around the world, including case studies in the United States, Canada, Australia, India, and Sub-Saharan Africa, the authors examine groundwater from key scientific and socioeconomic perspectives.
Dry run : preventing the next urban water crisis
Call Number: Ebook and College of San Mateo Library Upper Level : TD345.Y83 2010
ISBN: 9780865716704
Publication Date: 2010
Dry Run explains water issues and shows the best solutions for managing water scarcity and handling upcoming urban water crises. Ideal for concerned citizens, building managers, homeowners, architects, engineers, developers and public officials faced with charting a course into a more arid future, Dry Run overflows with practical solutions.
Water conservation programs : a planning guide
ISBN: 9781583213919
Publication Date: 2017
This manual provides water utilities and other industry professionals with the skills and information to develop, implement, and measure the success of a water conservation program.

Start your search!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.