Research Guides: ESL400: Climate Change: Zero Waste

Zero Waste

SMCCCD committed to becoming a Zero Waste District by 2025. The purpose of the SMCCCD Zero Waste Program is to identify and implement waste reduction and waste diversion strategies to achieve Zero Waste goals, and empower students, faculty, and staff to become change agents in their local and global communities.

Possible Search Terms

empty plastic water bottles

zero waste
waste reduction
waste diversion
zero waste campus
zero waste recycling
campus zero waste programs
colleges zero waste

Example Searches in OneSearch

Not sure where to start? Use buttons below to see what results you get in the CSM Library OneSearch catalog from these sample searches. Browse the results or try your own searches.

Designing for Zero Waste
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780203146057
Publication Date: 2013
Designing for Zero Waste is a timely, topical and necessary publication. Materials and resources are being depleted at an accelerating speed and rising consumption trends across the globe have placed material efficiency, waste reduction and recycling at the centre of many government policy agendas, giving them an unprecedented urgency.
Waste recycling and energy saving
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781925339079
Publication Date: 2016
What are the best ways we can avoid creating excess waste and at the same time become more efficient with our power consumption? This book is a handy guide on how we can all live more sustainably by applying the most effective approaches to better manage our household waste and energy use.
Lean Waste Stream
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781482253191
Publication Date: 2017
This book approaches the specific problem of business garbage from a "Lean and green" perspective, connecting garbage reduction at all stages with lower operating expenses, higher productivity, and minimized landfill impact. It not only looks downstream at options for reusing, repurposing, and recycling, but also considers garbage in terms of transportation, inventory, and labor costs

Start your search!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.