Research Guides: ESL400: Climate Change: Transportation

Transportation

As a commuter school of over 29,000 students, faculty, and staff, transportation is by and large the greatest emissions source for SMCCCD. Creating and incentivizing more sustainable transportation options, as well as decarbonizing the District fleet, is crucial to achieving our sustainability goals.

Possible Search Terms

ev chraging station

transportation sustainability
green transportation
sustainable transportation
decarbonizing transportation
carbon footprint
college transportation emissions

Example Searches in OneSearch

Not sure where to start? Use buttons below to see what results you get in the CSM Library OneSearch catalog from these sample searches. Browse the results or try your own searches.

Building blocks for sustainable transport : obstacles, trends, solutions
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9786612735776
Publication Date: 2008
Argues that the issues surrounding sustainable transport constitute a new - post-modern - phase in transport policy and management. This book is organized into three sections that discuss a major set of challenges to the transition to a sustainable transport system.
Planning Sustainable Transport
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781136754081
Publication Date: 2013
This text offers a thoughtful critique of existing methodology and policy, raising issues, providing facts, explaining linkages and stimulating debate. Transport choices must be changed if we are to cope with sustainability and climate change but that may only be done if we understand how the whole transport system works.
Moving people sustainable transport development
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9786612543449
Publication Date: 2010
Moving People provides an attention-grabbing introduction to the problems of transport and the development of sustainable alternatives, focusing on the often misunderstood issue of personal mobility, as opposed to freight. Re-assessing the value and importance of non-motorized transport the author raises questions about mobility in the face of climate change and energy security, particularly for the developing world.
Rail and the city : shrinking our carbon footprint while reimagining urban space
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780262027809
Publication Date: 2014
InRail and the City, architect Roxanne Warren makes the case for compact urban development that is supported by rail transit. Calling the automobile a relic of the twentieth century, Warren envisions a release from the tyrannies of traffic congestion, petroleum dependence, and an oppressively paved environment. Technical features of rail are key to its high capacities, safety at high speeds, and compactness -- uniquely qualifying it to serve as ideal infrastructure within and between cities.
Transportation and Sustainable Campus Communities
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781597262958
Publication Date: 2013
Transportation and Sustainable Campus Communities presents a comprehensive examination of techniques available to manage transportation in campus communities.

Start your search!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.